
APPLICATION FOR REASSESSMENT OF PROPERTY DAMAGED BY CALAMITY OR MISFORTUNE  

Location of Property:_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Assessor’s Parcel Number:________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Date Damage 
Occurred:_______________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

In order to qualify for reassessment under Section 170 of the California Revenue and Taxation Code, you must show that 
the actual damage is in excess of $10,000. The damage or destruction of the property must have been without fault of any 
owner or party in possession or control of the property. 

Description of the extent of the damage (use additional sheets if necessary). 

Brief statement of the facts and circumstances of the cause of the damage. 

Your opinion of Post-Damage Market Value.__________________________________________________________________ 

Before Calamity After Calamity Amount of Damage 

Land  _________________________ _________________________ _________________________ 

Structures  _____________________ _________________________ _________________________ 

Personal Property _______________         _________________________ _________________________ 

I declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is true and correct to the best of my knowledge.  

Signature: _________________________________________ Date: ___________________________ 

Phone number:  __________________         Email:_________________________ 

   EXCELLENCE – INTEGRITY - SERVICE 

County of Santa Cruz
SHERI THOMAS, ASSESSOR

701 OCEAN STREET, Rm. 130, SANTA CRUZ, CA 95060 
(831) 454-2002

www.santacruzcountyca.gov/asr

Lori Fleet 
Chief Deputy-Valuation     
Claudia Cunha 
Chief Deputy-Administration 



INSTRUCTIONS FOR APPLICATION FOR REASSESSMENT OF 
DAMAGED OR DESTROYED PROPERTY 

Date: _______________________________ 

In order for the Assessor to determine whether or not your property qualifies for 
this adjustment, you must complete the Application for Reassessment form. By law,  
the Assessor cannot process the application if it is not returned within 12 months after 
the occurrence of said damage. A claim can be made for damage to either real or 
personal property. 

An application for reassessment must be made by the person who, on January 1, 
owned, possessed or had under their control taxable property, which was damaged, 
or destroyed, or by a person who acquired the property after January 1 and is liable 
for the property taxes for the succeeding tax year. (The succeeding tax year covers 
the period from July 1 through June 30).  

If available, please attach copies of a contractor or insurance company’s estimate to 
repair the damage. 

The application must be executed under penalty of perjury, and if executed outside 
of the State of California, verified by affidavit. 

If you have any questions pertaining to this application, please call our office at (831) 
454-2270.


	GARY E. HAZELTON, ASSESSOR
	Jessie Mudgett
	Chief Deputy-Administration

	Sean Saldavia
	Chief Deputy-Valuation
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